Webinar: Depressed and Distracted: Depression, Suicide and ADHD

When:
October 18, 2017 @ 9:00 pm – 10:00 pm America/New York Timezone
2017-10-18T21:00:00-04:00
2017-10-18T22:00:00-04:00
Where:
In the comfort of your own home!
Cost:
$9.95 (Free for ADDA Members!)
Contact:

Description

About 30 percent of those with ADHD will experience a depressive episode at some time in their lives. Depression can be independent of the ADHD, or it can result from ADHD symptoms. ADHD has a significant impact on the course of depression. Studies find more depressive symptoms and increased severity in individuals with ADHD than in non-ADHD counterparts. When you have ADHD and depression, the symptoms of both conditions are worse than if you had either disorder alone. In addition, the risk of suicide is higher in those with ADHD. This webinar will discuss the symptoms of depression and the line between ADHD symptoms, a “bad” mood and clinical depression. Treatment interventions will also be discussed, as well as the importance of understanding suicide and its risks.

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify symptoms of clinical depression
  • Understand why people with ADHD are at higher risk for developing depression
  • Learn treatment models to properly treat people with ADHD and Depression

When: October 18, 2017 at 9 PM Eastern (6 PM Pacific, 7 PM Mountain, 8 PM Central, 10 PM Atlantic, 10:30 PM Newfoundland)

Where: In the comfort of your own home, listening on your computer speakers.

Who: Dr. Roberto Olivardia

Biography

Dr. Roberto Olivardia is a Clinical Instructor of Psychology at Harvard Medical School. He maintains a private psychotherapy practice in Lexington, Massachusetts, where he specializes in the treatment of ADHD, Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD) and obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). He is an internationally recognized expert in eating disorders in boys and men, detailed in The Adonis Complex, a book he co-authored on the subject. He currently sits on the Scientific Advisory Board for ADDitude Magazine and serves on the Professional Advisory Boards for ADDA, CHADD, ADDA and the National Association for Males with Eating Disorders.

1 Comments for : Webinar: Depressed and Distracted: Depression, Suicide and ADHD

    • Douglas
    • August 31, 2017
    Reply

    Looking forward to it, Douglas E. Jones

Leave a Comment