ADDA African American + ADHD Peer Support Group

When:
November 25, 2018 @ 8:00 pm – 9:30 pm America/New York Timezone
2018-11-25T20:00:00-05:00
2018-11-25T21:30:00-05:00
Where:
In the comfort of your own home!
Cost:
Free
Contact:
Support Group Contact Form
ADDA African American + ADHD Peer Support Group @ In the comfort of your own home!

Leaders: Jackquelina English & Romanza McAllister
Sessions: 90 minutes
Twice a month on Sunday evenings
Dates: September 23 & 30, October 21, November 18 & 25, December 16, January 13 & 20
Time: 8pm eastern/ 7pm central/ 6pm mountain/ 5pm pacific

The purpose of this ADDA virtual peer support group is to provide support to ADDA members who are African American adults with ADD/ADHD in a safe, non-judgmental environment.
African Americans are often under diagnosed with and treated for ADHD.

When left untreated ADHD is among the most debilitating disorders to live with. The risks of not treating ADHD include academic, social, and emotional problems. These problems may follow a person into adulthood impacting job performance, relationships, and mental health.
Common strengths of ADHDers such as creativity, the ability to hyper-focus for long periods, and quickly synthesize ideas can mitigate the pitfalls.

This group will provide trustworthy information regarding understanding ADHD symptoms, proven strategies, and treatment options. We will share our strategies for finding culturally competent health care providers.

This is a forum for mutual acceptance, understanding and self-discovery with peers. Participants are encouraged to share their experience, strength and hope. We especially invite those who are new support groups, or newly diagnosed. You don’t have to figure out ADD/ADHD on your own, talk to people just like you.

Each of us has a unique ADHD journey, discovering what we have in common brings us together.

Do you have trouble with procrastination? Losing your keys? Forgetting? So do we.
Join us as we support and encourage each other on Thursday nights.